Skip to content

Working Girl

September 25, 2009

I have a job!

Well, I don’t actually have a job, per se. At least not in the traditional sense. ie. one for which you are paid.

No, I don’t have one of those income providing jobs. But I did get a job! Really, I did!

I’m working for a local Bahamian Not for Profit. I’ll be involved with various fundraising initiatives. I won’t say on here what company it is, but I will say it is a fantastic organization that is doing very great things in the Bahamas, and I am so excited and proud to be working with them.

I haven’t been able to work since moving to the Bahamas because I don’t have resident status here yet. Hubby is a Bahamian, so that stuff is in the works, but it’ll be a while. I’ve learned to be more patient while dealing with administrative things here. There is no sense of accountability. No one wants to take responsibility for any job done (or not done) and the process is slow. I don’t really blame them. There is no sense of pride in ones job, but government buildings are typically about as comfortable as a windowless cave. It’s depressing, and I for one wouldn’t want to work in those conditions.

Anyway, not going into the many complexities of Bahamain society and government shortfalls, lets just say, I’ve been bored and jobless.

And now I’m excited. We certainly need for me to bring in an income asap, but for now? I’m thrilled!

The Bahamas has a shockingly poor lower class, and a VERY wealthy upper class made up of mostly foreign bankers, celebrities, and business moguls (many American). Unfortunately there isn’t nearly enough awareness or help to bridge that gap and bring help to those who need it.

It brings to mind something I’ve been thinking a lot lately. What’s more important? A job I love, or a job that will guarantee me financial security?

I think I’ll go with the first and hope it evolves into the second.

For now, that means living a little while longer with the in-laws. Oh boy.

charity cartoon

2 Comments leave one →
  1. mmacc permalink
    September 25, 2009 1:23 pm

    I think you can have your cake and eat it too…

    A client of mine started working with non-profits a 30 years ago and now he is a consultant for non-profits who want to deal with the various levels of Canadian bureaucracy (ie. How to get more money from the gov’t). He now makes a bazillion dollars a year (seriously. That’s the technical term for how much he earns)and loves what he is doing.

    So one can make money while working for non-profits and doing good. But you’d probably want to move back to Canada for that ;)

    • onecocoplum permalink*
      September 25, 2009 2:10 pm

      Excellent! We probably will move back to Canada one day (hopefully)! I’m feeling a bit homesick right now actually. I keep seeing autumn-like things on tv: nutmeg and squash in cooking shows, cinnamon scented candles, French inspired fashions with cute ankle boots and blazers… It makes me wish the leaves here would change.

Leave a Reply

