Skip to content

Say Yes to the Dress

September 15, 2009

picture-19I was married one month ago today!

I’m not going to get all mushy about being married for a month – after all, I was engaged for 4 years. Trust me, I’m patient. But, it’s still pretty great to know that I am a Mrs. And completely in love with my husband.

I’m currently attempting to get Thank You cards written and out. I hear there is a 2 month time frame for these things, but Bahamian mail is SLOOOOOOW, so I hope people will forgive me if my powers of organization have slackened after the wedding.

As an anniversary-related treat (wow, hello ego. Lets tell all 2 readers of this site that they are getting a real ‘treat’ by reading my opinions on the mundane.) I’m going to tell you the story of my wedding dress:

I have a confession to make.
I love TLC’s say yes to the dress. Well actually, I love to judge Say Yes to the Dress.

I talk to the screen when it’s on. “NO! Not that one!” , “What the hell are you thinking, you look like a cupcake”, “Did they skin Big Bird and then bleach the feathers to make that hideous catastrophe”

… and then, once in a while, breathlessly, “Oh! … so beautiful…”

But the cost!

The brides are always convinced to go well over their budget. They go in saying they will not go beyond $2000 and walk out glassy eyed, open mouths, looking like starving baby birds that just caught a glimpse of mama – all because they’ve found The One. The mystical dress made just for them – at only $6000. A steal.

Give me a break.
It’s ridiculous.

What I’m about to say may shock some people. The superstitious will cringe…
My dress was… used. GASP.

I’ll pause while you get your breath back.

Like any other bride I looked through magazine after magazine. I have hundreds of pictures saved on my computer and was pretty hands on in every aspect of the wedding. I wanted the perfect dress, shoes, flowers, hair, table arrangements etc. etc. roll out the fondant. But, this girl was on a budget. I had just moved to the Bahamas, my father is a notorious pinch-penny (“It’s the Scotsman in me”) and Hubby and I were planning to pay for some of the wedding.

I originally found the dress online about a year before the wedding, and saved the pictures in my wedding file for inspiration. I fell in love. It was champagne, A-line, halter with an elegant sprinkling of Swarovski crystals along the neckline and cascading down one side. A sheer modesty panel at the bust was covered in the crystals.

But the creme de la creme, the element that made me gasp was the back. Ribbon laced up the dress and the tie at the neck was a soft ribbon with two swarovski’s that dangled in the center of the back.

But…

It was around $1200, which is a fairly reasonable price, but still more than I wanted to pay for something I would wear once. Think of the shoes I could buy with that dough! I wanted to be beautiful, of course, but I was budgeting $5-800. I had found some in that price range – just not “The One”. I kept looking.

A few months later my roommate had decided to sell her old Tiffany prom dress on Kijiji, an online classifieds site in Canada. While browsing with her I took a look at the wedding gowns. I had never planned on buying a USED gown. It seemed so passe. But there it was, on the first page. The exact dress I had saved pictures of. A woman in my city had worn (and loved) the dress, but after a few years of hanging onto it decided that it was taking up too much space in her and her husband’s apartment.

Thank goodness for small city spaces!

The dress was perfect – and a steal.

I bought it for $125 and had it fit for $40 (a family friend is a seamstress for a local wedding shop).
In this day and age a bride needs to know how to budget. I had a dream wedding that could easily have been a $25,000+ wedding… but I planned well and budgeted.

And when I look at those photos, I am so happy. I didn’t need to pay $6000 for a dress to be happy, but I didn’t settle either.

I may not have Daddy’s last name anymore, but the apple doesn’t fall far from the tree. The Scotsman in me made him proud.

picture-165

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 24, 2009 4:21 pm

    I love “Say Yes to the Dress”! It’s so much fun but I am always amazed by how much the women are willing to spend! My goal was to spend around $700-800, but I caved and up-ed my budget to $1000 when I found my dream dress AND it fit me perfectly without a single alteration.
    I’m jealous of the amazing deal you got, your dress was beautiful!

    • onecocoplum permalink*
      September 25, 2009 11:39 am

      $1000 is still FAR less than many of those women pay… and your dress is STUNNING. Well worth it, and in fact, nicer than much of what I’ve seen on that show. Also, not needing to be altered? It was meant to be ;)

  2. Steph permalink
    September 24, 2009 6:40 pm

    And it was all because of me ;)

    • onecocoplum permalink*
      September 25, 2009 11:31 am

      Sure was! Have I told you lately that I love you? ;)

Leave a Reply

