Skip to content

Jelly belly

August 31, 2009

I like today. Perhaps not the most exciting statement, but true. I don’t have any specific reason for the overwhelming like-ing that I feel. It just is. Lame statement, I know.

My new husband is back to work today after a two week honeymoon. One week on a cruise, one week at home drinking wine and buckets of coffee, stewing in our own delicious laziness. I felt sad seeing him off to work this morning. Actually, I didn’t so much “see him off” as grunt a goodbye and kiss him with about as much aim as a blind newborn kitten running from a growling dog. I got near his mouth. I think.

I thought I’d be bored today – in fact, I tweeted for the first time in months about how I still have 10 toes. I counted. Twice.

But then I made lunch and took it out to the porch to eat. Can you honestly tell me anything better than salad with fruit? Especially when said fruit is fresh mango? Maybe you think that good healthcare or a particularly hot sex session are better. You’re wrong. Salad with mango wins.

I was going to write about how I have been hit by a little bit of the post-wedding slumps. No more stress and planning; no more excitement – just real life. But then as I ate my mango salad, I looked out over the beautiful turquoise waters and tropical fauna of my Island home. I’ve only lived here for 5 months and already I have begun to take it for granted. It is beautiful here. I have a wonderful husband.

And I also have a bag of jelly bellies. Mmmmm – grapefruit, my favorite!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 24, 2009 4:29 pm

    I had a bit of post-wedding blues, enhanced I believe by living in rainy England! Since my visa didn’t allow me to leave the country and hubby couldn’t get much vacation time during the summer we only got a couple of days in Scotland for a honeymoon. I would kill for some sunshine right about now! I might have to settle for making a mango salad and daydreaming about an island paradise though ;)

    • onecocoplum permalink*
      September 25, 2009 11:36 am

      I adore the UK. I was so looking forward to moving there, but plans changed and we ended up in the Bahamas. It is very beautiful, and for someone who is often hit with seasonal depression, this was probably the best move for us. But, I still with we had gone to England. And a honeymoon in Scotland? All that green and history! The Bahamas is a frustrating place to live. Drivers are scary, there is no separation of church and state, laws are mere suggestions, and it is a VERY classist society.
      The grass is always greener, I suppose!

Leave a Reply

